Tips for Every Research Session
Every research session:
- Always open NoodleTools - login from Clever
- Every time you find a source, create the citation in NoodleTools so you don't forget. Then create any relevant notecards from that source.
- Use this Libguide for access to your resources
- Use the "Big Three" databases to begin your research
- From home, you need the IDs & PWs Home Access Google Doc (link in blue)
- If you go "off the grid," be careful to evaluate your sources, see the evaluation tools/suggestions below
- Research Paper IdeasThis is a great place to look if you don't know what you want to research....
- SIRS Issues Researcher - Issues A-ZAnother great list of topics - each topic is a link that will take you to information in a database.
THE BIG 3: Recommended Databases
- Issues & ControversiesComprehensive overview articles on a variety of "controversial" issues. A great place to start your search because it provides background knowledge and the main arguments both for and against each of their covered issues.
- SIRS Leading IssuesA browsable list of researchable issues to help you find and narrow your topic. Each topic has overview articles, viewpoint articles, multimedia in a student-friendly package. **WILL NEED TO ADD ACCESS DATE FOR CITATION**
- Opposing Viewpoints IssuesClick on Browse Issues for topic listing. Similar to SIRS, an A-Z listing of topics for which pages have been created discussing all aspects of the topics including overviews, multimedia, and viewpoint articles.
Other Important Databases
In addition to the three most student-friendly controversy oriented databases: Issues and Controversies, SIRS, and Opposing Viewpoints, there are other helpful databases to use for your research project. Explore the other KHS and Power Library databases to identify the sources that cover your topic. Everyone should use one of the periodical databases below to locate newspaper, magazine, and journal articles on their topics.
- Gale database portalYou can search across many Gale databases here. Topics from all subject areas are covered.
- Gale's Global Issues in ContextThis is a great resource for international issues, sex traffic; discrimination in France, global climate, etc.
- Academic Search Main EditionAcademic journals.
- General One File NewsNewspapers.
- Power Library Databases*There are several subject specific databases. You can access any of the Gale databases using the Gale database link above. They all use our KHS PW. For other databases, you need a Power Library Ecard to access from home. See below.
- Power Library EcardAccess Ebsco, and many other subscription services from home using the free Power Library ecard.
- Green FileEnvironmental database from Ebsco.
- Science Reference Center via Power Library
Science database that doesn't show up in the Gale menu. Scroll down, click on Health/Science.
Library Books
Books from our Library
In order to find books, eBooks and audio books from our library, go to Clever and click on Follett Destiny or Destiny Discover. Ask Mrs. O'Neill if you need help finding something on the shelf or if we don't have a book or topic you need!
- Ebsco EbooksYou can download PDF versions of the books. Hit or miss depending upon your topic.
- Power Library EcardAccess Ebsco, and many other subscription services from home using the free Power Library ecard.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryEbook articles from a variety of reference sources.
Research Paper Help & Advice
- Purdue Owl Writing a Research PaperThis is a great source of help for all stages of the writing process.
Or, try a Google search
- Web Site EvaluationUse this form whenever you go off the grid.
Who's behind the information?
What's the evidence?
What do other sources say?
Fact Checking Sources
- USA Today Fact CheckEasy to use Q&A.