This is the "Home" page of the "Economics Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economics Resources  

Use this pathfinder to help you with your Economics project.
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2017 URL: http://khs.kcsd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=441514 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Pros and Cons

Use these databases to locate information about the more "controversial" of the topics under investigation. Portal pages to direct issues pages from Opposing Viewpoints are linked from the tabs. 

  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Great resource for the following topics:
    Obama Care (you can also search under Health Care Reform), Student Loans, National Debt, Minimum Wage, and The American Dream.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Overview articles giving background, plus the main arguments pro&con. Good for: Obama Care (health care reform), National Debt (debt crisis), Minimum Wage. Limited coverage of Small Business and Student Loans.
  • SIRS Researcher  
      
    Very good coverage on Health Care Reform, National Debt, and minimum wage. Articles on all of the other topics, too, but be careful with your searching.
  • Gale's One Stop Search
    You can search across Gale's databases from this link. ID & PW needed from home, available on red paper in library. This also provides you with the color wheel, the "analyze topic finder" helper.

Journal and Magazine Articles

Both SIRS and Opposing Viewpoints have articles from periodicals including newspapers, magazines, and journals.  Ebscohost also provides lots of current event coverage. From Power Library->General Reference->Ebsco Choose the following database files:Masterfile Main Edition, Business File Main Edition, Newspaper Source, and Web News.  Use Greenfile if your topic is Energy.  Make sure you limit your search to Full Text articles.  From home, you must have a public library card from any PA public library.

Google Search

Noodle Tools

Use Noodle Tools to create your MLA Works Cited.  If you already have an account, just create a new project.  Or, you can create an account to begin a project. 

 

MLA @ KHS

Don't forget, the library has several copies of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 8th ed.  If you can't find an example of a source in our KHS handout, check the complete handbook for help.  Even better, ask your teacher or Ms. Teixeira for assistance.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip