This is the "Home" page of the "United States History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

United States History  

Last Updated: Sep 21, 2017 URL: http://khs.kcsd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=442080 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Start here

Start with US History in Context, an amazing resource both for browsing and searching.  Articles, media, citations, and so much more. 

Other Helpful Databases

 Use these databases to locate overviews, primary resources, biogrpahies, multimedia, and periodical articles about many of your topics.

Ebooks

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    From the main menu, choose Gale Virtual Reference Library. This is the Kennett ebook collection with many great history resources including:
    American Eras, America through 1899, 8v, 1997
    Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th-Century America, 5v, 2002
    Encyclopedia of the Great Depression, 2v, 2004
    The Encyclopedia of Black Studies, 2005
    Harlem Renaissance, 2001
    Presidents: A Reference History, 3rd ed., 2002
    The Sixties in America Reference Library, 4v, 2005
    U.S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library, 6v, 2004
  • Ebscohost ebooks
    From the Power Library main page, choose Ebooks from the Literature menu. From home, you must have a public library card from any PA public library.

American History Web Directories

Use the following directories of recommended sites to locate the very best sources of web-based historical information.

Journal and Magazine Articles

Both SIRS and Opposing Viewpoints have articles from periodicals including newspapers, magazines, and academic journals.  Their links are found in the section called Databases. Ebscohost also provides coverage of important historical people and events.  First, pick Ebsco host.  Choose the following database files:Masterfile Main Edition, Omnifile Full Text Select, and Social Sciences Full Text and Humanities Full Text.  Make sure you limit your search to Full Text articles.  From home, you must have a public library card from any PA public library.

 

Library Books

The library has a great collection of books covering American History, and the ability to borrow books from any library across the state. To get started, the below link will bring you to the library catalog. Keep your search simple, ask for help if you can't find what you are looking for.

To find additional books, use our catalog:

http://catalog.kcsd.org/common/servlet/presenthomeform.do?l2m=Home&tm=Home&l2m=Home

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip