This is the "Home" page of the "Health Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Resources  

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2015 URL: http://khs.kcsd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=458715 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Issues Databases

These are great resources for many of your topics, particularly the topics that are social issues such as euthanasia, cloning, etc. 

Google

Make sure you are using reputable, reliable sources.  



Peer Reviewed Articles

  • Ebsco's MasterFile Premier via Power Library
    School only unless you have a PA public library card. From the main menu,choose Master File Main Edition under the Newspaper/Magazines section. Then be sure to limit your search to Academic Journal under the "Limit your Results" section. HTML articles can be translated into many articles, including Spanish and also have an auditory files so that you can listen while you read. PDF files do not have these options.
  • Cosumer Health Complete from the Power Library databases
    School only unless you have a PA public library card. From the main menu, click on Consumer Health Complete under the Health/Science section. Use the Advanced Search feature to locate Academic Journal articles under Limit your Results. You can also limit your results under the Document Type section to Evidence Based Reports.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Issues
    There are fewer peer reviewed articles at OV. However, if you are having problems understanding academic articles, this is a great place to look for magazine and newspaper articles. Many of the articles can be translated, and are available in audio. To search for academic articles, use the Advanced Search feature, and Limit to Peer Reviewed articles.

Other Important Databases

In addition to the three most student-friendly controversy oriented databases, Issues and Controversies, SIRS, and Opposing Viewpoints, there are other helpful databases to use for your health projecst.  Explore the other KHS and Power Library databases to identify the sources that cover your topic.  EBSCO host, accessed from the Power Library link below, has an environmental database, plus some all purpose magazine databases, perfect for health-related topics.

MLA

 

MLA @ KHS

Don't forget, the library has several copies of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th Ed.  If you can't find an example of a source in our KHS handout, check the complete handbook for help.  Even better, ask your teacher or Ms. Teixeira for assistance.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip