This is the "Home" page of the "Current Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Events  

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2015 URL: http://khs.kcsd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=511702 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Newspapers in Print at KHS

The papers to which we subscribe are listed in order from the most comprehensive and international in scope, to the most local.

  • Wall Street Journal
  • USA Today
  • Philadelphia Inquirer
  • News Journal
  • Daily Local News
  • Chester County Press
  • Kennett Paper
 

Magazines from KHS

Nation
Weekly.

New Republic
20 issues yearly.

Time Magazine
Weekly.

UTNE
Monthly, digests from alternative press.

News Networks & Outlets

Great for breaking news, and stories hot as of the day.  Some of your topics are more ongoing, and you may have better luck searching through the news databases for recent, albeit not today's, stories and coverage.

Online Newspapers

Most online newspapers limit their access to non-subscribers.  You are usually allowed to view a set number of stories, or only partial access to stories.  We do have subscriptions to the digital editions of both the Inquirer and the New York Times.  You can also use the magazine and newspaper databases to search more comprehensively on your topics.

Current Events for Students

These sites are created with students in mind.  While the coverage is more limited, they provide great tips, for example, looking at liberal v. conservative perspectives. 

Newspaper and Magazine Databases

  • Ebsco's MasterFile Main Edition via Power Library  
      
    From the main PL menu,choose Master File Main Edition under the Newspaper/Magazines section. "Provides full text for magazines, trade publications and periodicals covering general interest subject areas."
  • EBSCO's Newspaper Source from Power Library  
      
    From the Power Library menu, click on Newspaper Source under the section Newspapers/Magazines.
    "Provides the latest news from over 1,000 leading full text newspapers including extensive cover to cover for papers such as USA Today, The New York Times, and The Washington Post. In addition, this resource also features hundreds of television and radio transcripts including ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS and more."
  • SIRS Leading Issues  
      
    You can search or browse this database, and sort your results by date for the most recent articles. This is a selective, as opposed to "cover to cover" database, but it has excellent coverage on most of your topics. You can also set RSS feeds so that each time a new article is added to the database on your topic, you'll receive an email.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Issues  
      
    Overview and news articles from a variety of sources. You can limit your searching to magazine and/or newspaper articles, too. Like SIRS, this is a selective database, as opposed to "cover to cover" like Newspaper Source and Master File.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip