Here is your pathfinder for Honors British Literature with information about your reading options, criticism, and writing your literary analysis paper.
Here are the links to catalogs to find the books you'd like to read. But before you commit, you should learn about your options. TItlepeek and Good Reads can help you to select the perfect reading fit.
- Library Catalog
Use your British Literature resource list to browse through possible titles. Sort by author. Use the TITLEPEEK feature for expanded title information, often including professional and student reviews. We have most, but not all of the titles on your master list. Sometimes, we have substitute titles. You can also see which books are available in Spanish and in audio.
- Destiny Quest
The same library catalog with a different look, more visual. You can search for your British Literature Resource List, but you can't sort, the default is a title display.
- Access PA
Looking for a book we don't have? We can borrow any book from almost any library in PA. But, you can't keep these books all semester, so be careful.
- Good Reads
You can find brief summaries of books here along with reader reviews.
If you want to purchase copies of your books, you can often find them used and cheap from Amazon, and you can buy titles in ebook format for your Kindle, ipad, or iphone, too. Amazon also provides book summaries, and both professional and customer reviews.
- Project Gutenberg
Free ebooks, good for books no longer covered by copyright. Many of the books that we don't have in our collection, for example, the Fanny Burney titles, can be downloaded free from this site for both ereaders, and in html for computers.
- 100 Best Novels
Produced by Modern Library. Their list of the best, plus readers' choices.
- Nobel Prize Winners in Literature
Not all British, but feel free to skim if you're looking for more literary authors to study.
- TheGuardian's Top List
An English perspective on "best of" novels.
Your VERY best bet for critical essays about your authors and their writing. In addition to critical essays, Gale provides Topic Overviews which may help you better understand your reading and your author. Author biographies are also available for you. You need an ID&PW to access this resource from home. They are available at the library desk, and on your teacher's wiki.
- Salem Press
These articles are very scholarly. Yet, coverage is limited. Salem provides both free content, and articles in sources that we have bought. ID&PW needed from home.
- Internet Public Library Lit Crit Collection
This site is no longer active, but you may find some useful links to academic sources in the archive which is still available. These are free sites of information, collected by the Internet Public Library. Usefulness varies by author. Many of the sources linked from this resource are scholarly, but the site also includes Spark-note like resources, so be careful. When in doubt, ask.
- Ebsco's ebooks via Power Library
Many of the Bloom's titles are accessible via Ebsco on Power Library. Only one student can access each ebook at a time, just like a "regular" library book.
- Victorian Web
Scholarly articles from the VW for any author from this time period (Bronte, Carroll, Dickens, Doyle, Gaskell, Hardy, Stoker, etc.).
- Shakespeare Resource Center
Good starting point for Bard research.
Scholarly journals, aka peer reviewed or academic journals are excellent sources of information for scholarly papers. Because we are a high school library, we have fewer of these sources than what you will find next year in college. But DO practice using Ebsco, you will need to use Ebsco in college.
You can always try to locate additional academic articles using Google scholar. However, you are often directed to subscription only databases like our Literature Resource Center, which you can't access without $, or to ebooks that you can buy. You can try searching for your author's papers or special academic projects devoted to the study of your author/work/theme/genre.
There is a cart of recommended books for you to use. We have a very good print collection of literary criticism resources. Many of these books are reference books which don't circulate, but you can copy or have Mrs. Danska copy for you if you're willing to wait a day. MANY additional circulating titles are available to you in the stacks. The call number for Brit Lit Crit is 823 followed by the first letter of your author's last name. For example, criticism about J.K. Rowling would be located at 823 R.
British Writers' Supplement
Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Publication Date: 1996-12-20
Your teachers and librarian are here to help you with this process. However, the following links may also provide you with guidance on researching and writing a literary paper.