This page can be used for students studying poetry. It was created with AP English & Honors 9 English in mind.
Use the following sites to locate poems. You may find biographies and criticism at some of the sites. Check the annotations. CAUTION:if you find an online poem that you like, please investigate the poem and poet before you contiue. There are zillions of poems published on the Web, but not all of them are literary.
Don't forget, the library has several copies of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 8th Ed. And, we have renewed our subscription to Noodle Tools which has been revised for MLA 8.
Your VERY best bet for critical essays about writers and their works. In addition to critical essays, Gale provides Topic Overviews which may help you better understand your reading. Author/poet biographies are also available for you. You need an ID&PW to access this resource from home. They are available at the library desk.
- Internet Public Library Lit Crit Collection
This is currently an archived site, so you may find broken links. However, for some of the better-known poet laureates, there are many usefulness resources.
- SIRS Literary Corner
Sirs is hit or miss on writers, but the poets included in their database are often covered very well. ID&PW needed from home.
- Ebsco's Master File and Academic Search via Power Library
Click on Master File Main Edition in the Magazine/Newspaper section, Academic Search is under Education. Limit your search to full text. You can also limit to peer-reviewed journals. You need a PA public library card to access this source from home. Limited usefulness for this project, but the database does include some literary journals, so you may get lucky.
- Ebsco's Ebooks
Click on ebooks from Ebsco under the Find a Book section. Search on your poet's name, or you can try searching by your poet's genre, for example Romantic Poetry. You can limit your search by adding the word criticism. You need a PA public library card to access this source from home. Limited usefulness for this project, but the database does include some Bloom, Oxford, and Magill publications.
- Salem Press
These articles are very scholarly. Yet, coverage is limited. Salem provides both free content, and articles in sources that we have bought. ID&PW needed from home.
You can always try to locate additional academic articles using Google scholar. However, you are often directed to subscription only databases like our Literature Resource Center, which you can't access without $, or to ebooks that you can buy.
Noodle is a research helper with an automated citation generator. If you already have an account with Mr. O'Sullivan or Ms. O'Connor, you can add your poetry project, and create your citations for your Works Cited. It's easy to set up an account, please see me and refer to the available handouts. Set up your account here in school, but then Noodle can be accessed from anywhere.
Here are links to poems and poetry-related books availble or searchable electronically.
- Library Catalog
Books have pulled for you and placed on your class cart. Use the catalog to locate additional poems, poet biographies, and criticism.
- Destiny Quest
The same library catalog with a different look, more visual.
- Web Path Express
Our catalog also provides a directory of student-friendly websites. You may have good luck finding helpful websites if your poet is among the most-studied poets by high school students.
- Access PA
Looking for a book we don't have? We can borrow any book from almost any library in PA. But, you can't keep these books all semester, so be careful. You can use Access PA to locate both books of poems and poetry criticism.
- Project Gutenberg
Free ebooks, (text and audio books) good for books no longer covered by copyright. Many of the poems that AP students study can be found in online poetry books from Gutenberg. Search by poet not poem. Once you locate books by your poet, check the online index/table of contents to find your poems.
- Ebsco's ebooks via Power Library
Some poetry anthologies and many of Bloom's criticism titles are accessible via Ebsco on Power Library. Only one student can access each ebook at a time, just like a "regular" library book.
- Salem Press
These ebook articles are very scholarly. Yet, coverage is limited. Salem provides both free content, and articles in sources that we have bought. From the link click on the Remote Access Login. Search. Poets covered in this series include Brooks, Frost, and Poe. PW needed from home.
There is a cart of recommended books for you to use. We have a very good print collection of literary criticism resources. Many of these books are reference books which don't circulate, but you can copy or have Mrs. Danska copy for you if you're willing to wait a day. Use the catalog to locate specific anthologies and works of criticism. The links are in the above box. The below titles should be consulted by almost everyone:
Publication Date: 1996-09-23
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Publication Date: 2012-09-07
British Writers' Supplement
Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Latin American Writers
Publication Date: 1905-06-01