LibGuides: Bill of Rights in Action: Home

Supreme Court Cases

Oyez Oyez
Start here to learn about key Supreme Court Cases. Not a good place to look for potential cases, however.
Supreme Court Drama:Cases that Changed the World, Multi volume Ebook set
Cases through 2011, easier to read articles than some of the other sources. Search within results for the court case you are researching.
more...less...
PW required.
Great American Court Cases Ebook
Landmark cases through 1999. Search within the publication for the court case you are reseaching.
more...less...
Password required.
American Governance Ebook
Search within the publication for the court case you are reseaching.
more...less...
Password required.
SIRS RESEARCHER
Search using the main search screen. Use Government Reports to read the actual court case decisions, the other articles help explain those decisions. Please be careful with printing. There is a summary for each case. There are also articles about the cases from reference books.
Cornell Legal Information Institute
Full text and information about many Supreme Court cases.
United States Courts
Geared towards students, really good coverage of 1st and 4th amendments.
Milestone Events in US History Ebook
Covers the landmark decision and their impact on US History. Search within the publication.
more...less...
PW Needed

Use reputable, academic sources! When in doubt, use the below Fake News Resources to double check.

Fake News Resources

Remember to think laterally! Google the sources of your articles. Is the source authoritative on your topic? Is there a bias? A hidden agenda?

Bill of Rights Pros and Cons & In the News

Gale Power Search
An alternative to looking through a variety of Gale's databases, you can choose which databases you'd like to search and search once. Pros and Cons for each approach.
more...less...
Definitely choose US History in Context and Opposing Viewpoints, choose more to expand your search.
Opposing Viewpoints
This is a wonderful site for learning about the issues behind the Bill of Rights, abortion, gun control, capital punishment, and for tying that together with the decisions of the Supreme Court. Lots of videos, statistical maps, and podcasts that you can use in your oral presentations, too.
more...less...
As with all Gale products, you can either copy->paste and edit your citations, or download directly into Noodle Tools from Gale.
US History in Context
Very similar to Opposing Viewpoints, but has some different resources, search both for the best results. ID & PW needed from home.
Issues and Controversies
Overview articles giving background, plus the main arguments pro&con for each of the issues covered. You can search or browse this resource by topic. Great for getting both sides of issues. Copy, paste, and edit citations.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Lots of multimedia, in addition to a pro/con approach to civil liberties. Copy, paste and edit citations.
more...less...
ID & PW needed from home.
Pro/Con.org
This non-profit produces it's own materials about controversial topics such as abortion and capital punishment. It is neutral, presenting both sides of each issue.
The National Constitution Center
Nice introduction to each amendment, with good synopsis and background.
General One File
This is a general all-purpose collection of newspapers and magazines.
General OneFile News
Newspaper articles from across the country and globe. Try to look for some of the local coverage, or at national papers like the New York Times.
Alexander Street Videos
Videos can be found at our new subscription video service, you need a PW from home.

Data and Statistics

American Fact Finder

Bill of Rights: The Issues

ACLU
The American Civil Liberties Union covers an array of constitutional issues.

List starts general, then goes through the issues starting with abortion and ending with student rights.

Abortion Portal
Guttmacher
Great source for information and statistics about abortion.
National Right to Life
Largest anti-abortion advocacy group.
NARAL
One of the largest pro-choice advocacy groups.
Freedom Forum Institute
FIrst Amendment coverage, censorship & religious issues.
Censorship & The First Amendment
First Amendment Censorhsip Portal
Religious Freedom Portal
Gun Control Portal
National Rifle Association
Anti-gun control.
March for Our Lives
The organization started by Parkland School Survivors.
The Brady Campaign to Stop Gun Violence
Capital Punishment Portal
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Awesome coverage of search and seizure, capital punishment, and gun control.
Death Penalty Information Center
This is a must visit site for groups covering the Death Penalty.
Search and Seizure Overview
Great starting point for S&S.
4th Amendment from Find Law
Student Rights Portal
This is the Opposing Viewpoints page on student rights.
Civil Rights Portal
Within the page, you can limit your search to Supreme Court.
Human Rights Campaign
Largest LGBTA advocacy group in America.
State's Rights Portal
You can search within the results here.
Modern Cases Bush v. Gore Portal
Modern Cases:Citizens United V. Fed...
Modern Cases:Obergefell v. Hodges

Bill of Rights in Action: Home

TIPS & TO DOs