TIPS & TO DOs
Before you begin your research:
- Have a folder or a document saved in your Google Drive for saving information and taking notes
- Use Noodle to create a project to cite your sources
- Use the above Noodle tab with Noodle Links
- Don't forget, Noodle is now accessed through Clever
- Create a project "Acadia National Park" for example (Use the defaults, MLA 8, Advanced)
- Share your project with Replogle, National Parks, your period
- Once you find sources, cite them using the Noodle Tool templates (models based on source type)
Use the sources on THIS LIBGUIDE to locate sources for your project
- FIRST: Go to NPS, the official site of the National Park Service
- Explore your park before you start researching your park
- Look at pictures
- Get a sense of what makes your park special before you start finding specific information
Make sure you are locating sources that are:
- Relevant
- High quality, academic, and vetted (the sources from this website)
- Readable
- Shop before you settle! Skim first
- Once you find your sources:
- Cite in Noodle (this will link you to the source)
- Read/View/Listen
- Take notes
- THINK
- Once you find your sources:
Find information about your topic from different source types and in different formats including
- Databases
- Remember, the database articles automatically connect to Google drive and Noodle Tools
- Or, provide citations you can copy/paste/edit
- Database articles require PWs
- Websites
- Magazines/Journals/Newspaper and News Services
- Books (ebook and "regular")
- Copies from one of the most helpful books have been made for you
- Images
- Videos
Our National Parks:START AT NPS
- National Park Service HomepageUSE FOR INTRO & Paragraphs 1&3. The 'official' website for our National Park system, this site has in-depth information about our national parks. Use the site index to find the particular information you are looking for, wildlife, ecology, etc.
- NPS Geologic Resources InventoryUse this link for Geologic Reports. Excellent reports can be found here. Use the interactive map,choose your park and scroll down.
- NPS PublicationsPublications about our National Parks in PDF file format for you to download. Very data rich guides to use for your projects.
- NPS Data StoreA link by category to NPS reports including science, resources, history, and culture. Helpful, combined with the NPS homepage, for paragraph 3.
- National Park Service LibraryThese are many useful and accessible resources available from the NPS Library, and you can also email their librarian if you need assistance.
- National Parks Service AssociationAn advocacy arm of the National Park Service focusing on sustaining and conserving our parks.
- The Geology of the Parks from the USGSFrom the USGS, "3D and Photographic Tours Featuring Park Geology and Natural History." Helpful for paragraph 2
- Ken Burns National ParksOnline companion to the book and video series chronicling the history of "America's best idea."
Science & History Databases: Use for History and Environmental Issues
- US History in Context DatabaseGood historical articles about the founding of the park system, and on individual parks. Some news stories, too. You can sort by date for most recent news articles.
- Green FilePart of the Power Library Collection. You need an ecard to access from home. Apply for one at https://powerlibrary.auto-graphics.com/
- PA Power LibraryA collection of resources provided by the Commonwealth of PA. You need an ecard to access these resources outside of school.
Apply for one at https://powerlibrary.auto-graphics.com/
Our National Parks in the News: Use for Paragraph 1 Environment /other issues in the news
- Academic One FileAcademic journal articles from a variety of subjects, hit or miss.
- Gale One File NewsNewspaper articles from across the country and globe. Try to look for some of the local coverage, or at national papers like the New York Times.
- National GeographicAwesome photos, some free magazine content. Remember, we have copies of the print version going back to the 1920's! You can also try Google searching National Geographic AND name of your park since their search is tricky.
- SIRS ResearcherImportant articles about various national park issues. Not comprehensive, but some good information. An ID&PW needed from home.
Sometimes, the NPS page is hard to navigate. Try searching on your park, National Park Service and what you are trying to research. Example: National Park Service Grand Canyon Ecosystem. (Thank you Hayden!)
Book Articles
The below PDF FIles come from this amazing book. A must use for everyone! Use for paragraph 2, also strong for the history section of paragraph 1.
- Articles from The Geology of National ParksYou need to login to this Google Drive Folder using your KCSD email; find your park, and download the file.
There is a small collection of print resources available in the library on a cart for you.
Make sure that you are looking at reputable sites. Who is the author of the site? Who published/sponsored the site? What is the purpose of this site?