LibGuides: English 11 Research Paper: Home

Tips for Every Research Session

Every research session:

Always open NoodleTools - login from Clever
Every time you find a source, create the citation in NoodleTools so you don't forget. Then create any relevant notecards from that source.
Use this Libguide for access to your resources
Use the "Big Three" databases to begin your research
- From home, you need the IDs & PWs Home Access Google Doc (link in blue)
If you go "off the grid," be careful to evaluate your sources, see the evaluation tools/suggestions below

Research Paper Ideas
This is a great place to look if you don't know what you want to research....
SIRS Issues Researcher - Issues A-Z
Another great list of topics - each topic is a link that will take you to information in a database.
Issues and Controversies - Browse Issues
Mr. Lentz's Sign-up Sheet
Ms. Alexander's Sign-Up Sheet

Books

Books from our Library

In order to find books, eBooks and audio books from our library, go to Clever and click on Follett Destiny or Destiny Discover. Ask Mrs. O'Neill if you need help finding something on the shelf or if we don't have a book or topic you need!

Research Paper Help & Advice

Purdue Owl Writing a Research Paper
This is a great source of help for all stages of the writing process.

Databases with Educational Topics (ID & PW Needed)

Research in Context
In between Opposing Viewpoints and Kids Infobits in terms of article difficulty.
SIRS Leading Issues
See if you can find your topic as a "leading issue," if not, search.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Basic encyclopedia with general articles
Issues & Controversies Research Topics
Start by looking at the topic pages Try searching the database if you don't see your topic. Fewer options here, but the articles are very comprehensive.
Opposing Viewpoints Issues
You can look through the broad issues here, they are sorted by subject/topic or in alphabetical order, or you can search the database. Be careful with search terms, "Less is Best." Start with Overviews/Reference, then try Viewpoints, use the magazines/newspapers and other content too.
Gale Database Portal
This is a huge list of Gale databases about many different topics!

Or, try a Google search

Evaluating Sources
Who's Behind the Information?
What's the Evidence?
What do Other Sources Say?

English 11 Research Paper: Home

Tips for Every Research Session

Books

Research Paper Help & Advice

Databases with Educational Topics (ID & PW Needed)

Or, try a Google search

Fact Checking Sources