Science in the News!
:max_bytes(150000):strip_icc()/PeriodicTable-White-58b5d8c15f9b586046df020c.png&usqp=CAU)
Good Day Chemistry Students!
- Today we will find an article from a print publication related to Chemistry.
- Each student from each class section must find a unique article, Ms. B has a sign up for you
- Make sure to ask yourself the following questions:
- Is this article related to science and chemistry?
- Is it interesting to me?
- Can I read and understand the article enough to explain it to someone else?
- You can look through a variety of publications that we own in the library
- Science magazines
- News magazines
- If you use a newspaper or another source from outside of school, make sure
- The article is from a trusted source
- The article was written within the past 3-6 months
Science in the News
The library subscribes to many Science magazines:Discover, Popular Science, Scientific American, Science News, Science World. And, the following magazines that also have related articles:National Wildlife, National Geographic, and Psychology Today. Here are links to their sites and others.
Newspapers at KHS
The papers to which we subscribe are listed in order from the most comprehensive and international in scope, to the most local. * indicates electronic edition available
- Wall Street Journal
- New York Times(link below)
- https://link.gale.com/apps/pub/2NYT/AONE?u=kennetths&sid=AONE
- Philadelphia Inquirer*
- Daily Local News
- Chester County Press
- Southern Chester County Weekly
Other Science Websites
- Science News for StudentsSome easier to read content.
Or, try a Google search
If you need a new source, try a google search. You can go broad, chemistry news or chemicals. Or, more narrow, chemicals in food for example. Watch your dates, you need an article from the past year. And, watch the title of your source which may have already appeared on this libguide. Last, and most importantly, make sure your source is credible, reliable, and factual, no "fake" news!
Newspaper and Magazine Databases
- Gale One FIle HIgh SchoolGeneral Periodicals for hs students. Limit by full text, either magazine or news, and by the past year. Use the subject headings to further limit your options. Spanish and audio available.
- Gale One File ScienceA collection of science periodicals. Limit to Full Text, Limit to Magazines, and sort by date. Spanish translations available.
- Kid Info BItsOur easiest KHS database, but with fewer articles than the others.
- Science Reference CenterYou can use the menus, or search on Chemistry. Sort by newest article. Some of these articles are very technical. School only.
- SIRS Leading IssuesYou can search or browse this database, and sort your results by date for the most recent articles. This is a selective, as opposed to "cover to cover" database, but it has excellent coverage on most of your topics. You can also set RSS feeds so that each time a new article is added to the database on your topic, you'll receive an email.