Starters
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFrom the main menu, choose Gale Virtual Reference Library. This is the Kennett ebook collection most helpful to your topics. Titles include:The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine and the Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders. Gale provides many student-friendly features including audio files, translations, and MLA citations. And, there's even an APP for Gale! From home, you must enter an ID&PW available from the library.
- Gale Health & Wellness Resource CenterClick on Health and Wellness Resource Center. Start by browsing for your genetic disorder under the Diseases & Conditions section. You will find an overview article, but you can use the tabs to locate clinical studies, fact sheets, and a wealth of information. Plus, the articles link you to organizations that provide education about their diseases. You need an ID&PW to access this resource from home.
MLA @ KHS
Don't forget, the library has several copies of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th Ed. If you can't find an example of a source in our KHS handout, check the complete handbook for help. Even better, ask your teacher or Ms. Teixeira for assistance.
- Works Cited ModelThis document model contains examples from The National Park Service, Ebscohost, and National Geographic.
- KHS MLA HandoutUpdated to reflect the new Power Library databases.
Genetic Disease Information: The A List
- Genetics Home Reference from the National Institutes of HealthThe National Library of Medicine, a branch of the NIH, produces very thorough web pages about health topics. Here is their genetic diseases/disorders gateway.
- Genetic Disorders from Medline PlusAnother excellent NIH website with information about genetic disorders and diseases.
- National Human Genome Research Institute"The NHGRI divides its study of genetic disorders into three headings: specific genetic disorders, rare and orphan diseases, and rare hereditary genetic disorders. Students can learn about thirteen different specific genetic disorders, including breast cancer, cystic fibrosis, and Huntington's disease. The rare and orphan diseases studied are Duane Syndrome, Guillain-Barre Syndrome, and trimethylaminuria. ALPS and Pallister-Hall Syndrome are part of the hereditary disorders. Additional resources include a talking genetic glossary, and a disease information center for genetic and rare diseases."
- The Centers for Disease ControlThe US CDC also provides information on many genetic disorders.
Google search
If you are still stuck after using all of the resources provided, you can try searching for your disease/disorder. Please make sure that you are selecting reputable, authoritative, and accurate medical sites! The organizations that provide research and support on disorders, for example, The National Hemophilia Foundation, are often good bets.
Want to learn more about genetic diseases in general?
Having trouble understanding genetic disorders? Check out these sites and tutorials!
