Noodle Tools
- Noodle LoginDon't forget to create a new project, and to share it with Mr. Waite or O'Sullivan.
Electronic Starters
Here are the links to electronic databases that have excellent coverage on countries and their cultures, but varyingcoverage of the arts. You can access these resources from home with an ID&PW, available from the library.
- Global Issues in ContextFrom the main menu, choose Global Issues in Context. Search on your country or nationality, for example, Pakistanis. There are many excellent sources about culture. See if you can locate an article under the Reference Section from the source called
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. You need an ID&PW to use this source from home. - Gale Virtual Reference LibraryDepending upon your topic, you may find a helpful ebook article from GVRL. Includes an Encyclopedia of Food and Culture and an Encyclopedia of Education.
- Gale's Databases, Power SearchThis is NOT helpful for overview articles, but it does provide current popular culture information with newspaper and magazine coverage.
- SIRS Issues ResearcherA database of magazine and newspaper articles, hit or miss coverage, but some great articles about some of our topics, such as Bachato,
Books from our Library
World and Its Peoples by ISBN: 9780761475712Publication Date: 2006-09-01We have this series which covers the cultures of the world.
Peru by ISBN: 9780761420682Publication Date: 2006-09-01We have The Cultures of the World series which has wonderful coverage of the world's countries. Great photos which can be scanned and used, too!
These recommended books have been placed on your classroom cart.
Culture around the World
- National Geographic MagazineThe online companion to the magazine. We have the print edition going
- Culture CrossingCross cultural Etiquette and Understanding. This page is very user-friendly, and allows world travelers and others to contribute content. It is edited, but you should verify facts found from this source.
- Global Guide to Culture and CustomsGeared towards the business traveler, it provides lots of useful practical tips about culture.
- African Studies CenterAn extensive Internet directory.
- Latin America Information NetworkA rich resource produced by the U of Texas, searchable by country or topic, ie literature.
- Middle Eastern CultureAnother collection of resources spanning a variety of topics.
- Islamic ArtsNot country, but religion specific. Could be helpful for understanding the arts of the Middle East.
- Indian CultureLots of good information, better on some topics than others.
- East Asian History and CultureA huge web directory, heavy focus on China.
- Contemporary Japan:Culture & SocietyGreat on all aspects of culture, strong on family.
- Web Path ExpressTry searching through our library catalog's collection of web sites. You can search for general sites by typing your country+culture+customs or "japanese music" if you want more specific. No need to evaluate these sites, they've been vetted by Follett.
- The World ExplorerFlorida International University produced this very cool site with information and media galore.
Travel Websites
- National Geographic TravelGreat pictures, and travel advice.
Travel sites often provide information about culture, particularly regarding manners and food.
- Lonely Planet TravelMore travel advice and pictures, too.
- Fodor's TravelTips for travel.
- Globe TrekkerWe also have a collection of their videos, a great way to learn about your country and its' culture.
Food and Recipes
- Recipe SourceEthnic cuisines by region.
- World HearthInternational cuisine.
- Global Gournet"The World on a Plate."
- Congo CookbookAfrican recipes.
Country Overviews & Statistical Information
These sites give you a quick snapshot about countries, including maps and overviews.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesVery detailed country information. Lots of historical stuff, and cultural information.
Destiny Quest
- Destiny QuestUse DQ, our library catalog, to help you locate reviewed sources on your topics. An amazing resource!
Google search
Don't forget, you must evaluate any site that you find that's not included in this libguide.
Looking for pictures and multimedia?
- National GeographicPhotos don't get much better than these!
Remember, as you are researching in the different databases and on the different websites and you find photos that might be usable, save them into a folder for future use. You can also scan images from the books.
- AP Photo ArchiveFrom the main menu, click on Biography-> Click on AP Images. Search on something specific, for example "Great Wall of China."
- World Digital LibraryA collection of primary sources from images to maps from around the world. Some of the items are historic, while others are contemporary. Coverage varies by country, so take a look.
- Globe Trekker's Music from around the WorldWe have a collection of musical dvds that can be borrowed and used for your soundtrack. Remember to use music ethically. You can only use
- Creative CommonsMultimedia from the public domain that you can use without worry of copyright and fair use infringement.