Directions
- Always open NoodleTools - login from Clever
- Every time you find a source, create the citation in NoodleTools so you don't forget. Each student needs 2 sources.
- Use this Libguide for access to your resources
- From home, you need the IDs & PWs Home Access Google Doc (link in blue)
- You will definitely want to use the Starter/Groundwork Guide to begin - this does not count as one of your sources.
Genocide Starters
This is your "gimme." This is a great place to start, and will give you info to begin completing your graphic organizer. The title page is here for your citation. This does not count towards your 2 sources.
- Charts & Background from Genocide:A Groundwork GuideUse this Google Folder to locate information to start you on your research journey. For most of the Genocides, you will find a chart plus excerpts from the book. For topics not covered in this book, an overview article has been provided for you.
Database/Ebooks
- World History in ContextEspecially good for historical perspectives and past genocides. Type your genocide into the box, "Search within Results." Use for Armenia/Bosnia/ Cambodia/Darfur/Guatemala/Herero. You can also just search the database instead of using this portal, that strategy works best for Ukraine AND famine; Rape of Nanking.
Global Issues in ContextISBN: 0737756527Great for more recent genocides/atrocities, and to learn about the aftermath. Search on Conflict in Darfur; Rohingya Crisis in Myanmar;Uyghurs. You can also find information about some of the older genocides. Search on country, i.e.Guatemala, and within results search on Genocide or Mayan.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by ISBN: 0028658477Publication Date: 2004-10-29This is only helpful for genocides that occurred before 1984. Search within the publication for your genocide.
History Behind the Headlines by ISBN: 0787649511Publication Date: 2000-11-14Awesome, but limited. Only helpful for topics that occurred before 2000.
- Defining Documents in World History: Genocide & The HolocaustThis is an ebook about Genocide rich in Primary Source material, but it doesn't cover all of your topics. It is definitely worth a visit. ID & PW needed from home.
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide by ISBN: 9781438134864Publication Date: 2011-01-01You must sign in to use this ebook using your KCSD ID&PW. You can search within each title. Good for genocides before 2011. You need to be patient to use this resource.- Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes byISBN: 9781598849264Publication Date: 2013-01-01A good resource, but slow loading, and can be difficult to use.
Genocide
- Facing History and OurselvesArmenia, Nanking/Nanjing.
- Genocide WatchTheoretical, discusses the 10 stages in detail. Alerts for current concerns.
- Herero GenocideFrom Stop Genocide Now, a two part series.
- History.com EShort overviews of genocides.
- Peace Pledge UnionArmenia/Bosnia/Cambodia/Guatemala/Namibia/Ukraine
- U of Minnesota Genocide & HolocaustCovers the Holocaust, Armenia, Rwanda, Cambodia, Holodomor; American Indians (The Dakota Wars)
- US Holocaust MuseumExcellent coverage of the Holocaust, also includes information about Cambodia, Bosnia, Darfur (Sudan) Mynamar (Burma),Uyghur/China, and Rwanda.
- Virtual History ArchiveEyewitness accounts about Armenia, Rwanda, Nanjing, Holocaust, Guatemala, Rohigya,
- Human Rights Watch RwandaVery comprehensive coverage of Rwanda.
Genocide in the News
- SIRS Leading IssuesArticles from newspapers and magazines.
- Opposing Viewpoints IssuesIn addition to finding your genocide in the news, there are also articles from the Opposing Viewpoints book series.
Genocide Books from the KHS Library
- Destiny Discover Genocide CollectionWe have a collection of books, ebooks, and links to ebooks/book PDF copies from our library. If prompted, enter your KCSD ID&PW.