Tips for Every Research Session
Every research session:
- Always open NoodleTools - login from Clever
- Every time you find a source, create the citation in NoodleTools so you don't forget. Then create any relevant notecards from that source.
- Use this Libguide for access to your resources
- From home, you need the IDs & PWs Home Access Google Doc (link in blue)
For this research session:
- Find poems by your poet
- print and electronic sources available
- work in reverse, look to see which poems are most studied before you commit to poems
- Use Literature Resource Center
- Find Biographies, Use Biography link
- Find articles of criticism, Use the Literature Criticism link
- Use the Filters
- Limit by Subject->Use the poet's name
- Limit by work->Titles of poems
- Or, find an overview article about your poet's works in general
- Skim through the Poets and Poems websites to look for poems by the poet you selected
- If you need books to find poems/criticism, search the Catalog
- Login to Clever and then click on Follett Destiny
- We have many collections of poems including "complete works"
- Use Literature Resource Center
Poets and Poems
Use the following sites to locate poems. You may find biographies and criticism at some of the sites. Check the annotations. CAUTION:if you find an online poem that you like, please investigate the poem and poet before you continue. There are zillions of poems published on the Web, but not all of them are literary.
- Poetry FoundationThis is a very good site to browse. The foundation "is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. " Not every poet or poem listed here is literary.
- Representative Poetry OnlineAn online poetry anthology, includes biographical and some critical information, too.
- The Victorian WebHere you will find biographical, historical, and analytical essays about poets from the Victorian era.
- Modern American PoetryHere you will find biographies and criticism for contemporary American poets.
- A-Z LyricsNot academic, but lots of lyrics available.
- Library of Congress Poetry PageWas your poet a US poet laureate? If so, check out this site hosted by the Library of Congress.
- Poets from the American Academy of PoetryShort bios and representative poems from famous poets, both American and international.
Reading Poetry
- Poetry Out LoudPoetry Out Loud, the sponsor of a national recitation contest provides tips including a video series on learning how to recite.
- Audio and Video from Poets.orgListen to some quality poetry readings to learn by example. There are many fine examples available to you on the web, and also in your library. Here is one good place to start.
Understanding Poetry
- U of Wisconsin's How To Read A PoemThe U of Wisconsin's Writer's Handbook provides information about literary analysis, including how to critically read poems.
- OWL at PurdueAdvice about writing on poetry.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Your VERY best bet for critical essays about writers and their works. In addition to critical essays, Gale provides Topic Overviews which may help you better understand your reading. Author/poet biographies are also available for you.
- Need helping using Literature Resource Center?Click on help at the bottom of the page.
Additional Literary Criticism Resources
- Critical Survey of American PoetryAwesome multivolume resource with bios and criticism! ID & PW needed from home.
- Power LibraryFree databases offered the PA Power Library!
Google scholar
You can always try to locate additional academic articles using Google scholar. However, you are often directed to subscription only databases like our Literature Resource Center, which you can't access without $, or to ebooks that you can buy.
Finding Poetry Books and Ebooks
"Old School" Catalog - login to Clever, click on Follett Destiny
- Library Catalog - Destiny DiscoverWe own lots of great poetry and poetry criticism books. You can borrow non-reference books, or order copies from Reference titles. There is a collection for your class.
- Project GutenbergFree ebooks, (text and audio books) good for books no longer covered by copyright. Many of the poems that AP students study can be found in online poetry books from Gutenberg. Search by poet not poem. Once you locate books by your poet, check the online index/table of contents to find your poems.
- Salem PressThese ebook articles are very scholarly. Yet, coverage is limited. Salem provides both free content, and articles in sources that we have bought. From the link click on the Remote Access Login. Search. Poets covered in this series include Brooks, Frost, and Poe. PW needed from home.
- Ebsco's EbooksSource for ebooks of criticism. Many of the Blooms Critical editions are available from this site.
- Power Library EcardFor resources provided from the PA Power Library, you need a free ecard, available from this link.
Reference Resources
The Facts on File companion to British poetry : 1900 to the present by Call Number: R 821 FISBN: 0816064067Publication Date: 2009Contains four hundred and fifty entries on British poetry from 1900 to the twenty-first century, which features poets such as Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, William Butler Yeats, and many others; discusses themes, topics, and movements; and includes a glossary of poetic terms, bibliographies, and cross-referencing.
Contemporary Literary Criticism by ISBN: 9781414484938Publication Date: 2012-09-07
British Writers' Supplement by ISBN: 068431312XPublication Date: 2004-09-22
American Writers by ISBN: 0684197855Publication Date: 1996-09-23
These are amazing reference resources. If you'd like an article about your poet, email me, and we will copy and have your articles ready for curbside pickup within 24 hours. Or, use the above catalog link and order form to place orders for books we own that circulate (check out).
Latin American Writers by ISBN: 068418463XPublication Date: 1905-06-01