The American Dream
- The American Dream from Opposing ViewpointsAn awesome collection of resources, pro and con, about the American Dream, videos, statistics, podcasts, and articles from books, magazines, and journals.
- Income Inequality from Opposing ViewpointsAnother portal page related to American Dream.
- America's Wealthy from Opposing ViewpointsA collection of resources related to the American Dream.
- American Dream articleFrom the ebook, American Governance.
- Ebsco Ebooks on the American DreamOutside of school, you need to apply for a free ecard to access this resource.
Pros and Cons
Use these databases to locate information about the more "controversial" of the topics under investigation. Portal pages to direct issues pages from Opposing Viewpoints are linked from the tabs. You need IDs and PWS for these resources available via Mr. Waite's Schoology page.
- Gale Opposing ViewpointsGreat resource for the following topics:
Obama Care (you can also search under Health Care Reform), Student Loans, National Debt, Minimum Wage, and The American Dream. - Issues and ControversiesOverview articles giving background, plus the main arguments pro&con. Good for: Obama Care (health care reform), National Debt (debt crisis), Minimum Wage. Limited coverage of Small Business and Student Loans.
- SIRS ResearcherVery good coverage on Health Care Reform, National Debt, and minimum wage. Articles on all of the other topics, too, but be careful with your searching.
News sources
Both SIRS and Opposing Viewpoints have articles from periodicals including newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database articles require IDs & PWs, use the home access document linked from Mr. Waite's Schoology Project page.
- Gale OneFIle NewsOur new newspaper database. You can search a variety of newspapers from one spot.
- General One FileThis is our new periodical database. Sort by most recent. Here you can locate newsy videos, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal content.
Google Search, don't forget to CRAAP test your Google sources!
Noodle Tools
Use Noodle Tools to create your MLA Works Cited. Login through Clever, using your KCSD ID & PW>
MLA @ KHS
Don't forget, the library has several copies of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 8th ed. If you can't find an example of a source in our KHS handout, check the complete handbook for help. Even better, ask your teacher or Ms. Teixeira for assistance.