Gale's Global Issues in Context
Gale provides integrated content about global issues. Start here to get a brief snap shot about your country, including some of the major issues confronting it. Then, mine deeper for news analysis, viewpoints, scholarly articles and LOTS of multimedia. ID & PW needed from home.
Books & DVDs
Global Social Issues by ISBN: 0765682923Publication Date: 2012-10-05
Most of the relevant books for this project are on your cart. Make sure to check out our new encyclopedia of Global Social Issues. Search by country in the index which will direct you to the relevant articles which are organized by issue.
- Global Issues for Students DVD seriesCovers the following issues:Africa: Challenges in the 21st Century; Genocide; Global Economic Issues; Global Environmental Issues; Global Science and Technology Issues; Human Rights; Latin America:Challenges in the 21st century.
- Global Human Rights VideosDraws from the media library of ABC News to provide interviews, documentary film clips, and commentary on global human rights, looking at political, religious, and ethnic conflicts around the world.
Global Issues
Use these sites to locate information about Global Issues in general, and specifically as they pertain to your particular country.
- Council on Foreign RelationsAn awesome resource with both country and regional specific information, also searchable by issue.
- BBC Special ReportsThe BBC has created special reports around topical issues from all over the world. Provides analysis and context often missing with news articles.
- Amnesty International Human RightsMany global issues are Human Rights issues, Amnesty is one of the largest advocates on behalf of Human Rights around the world. Searchable by country or issue. Check out the most recent annual reports for a synopsis of human rights concerns by country.
- Human Rights WatchSearchable by topic or region. Similar to AI, the above link.
- World Health OrganizationProfiles of the health of the world, by country.
- Directory of Environmental OrganizationsSome are specific to a country or region, others are international in scope.
- United Nations Environment ProgrammeSearchable by environmental topic.
- The World Hunger ProjectAn advocacy group with information about Know Your World: Facts about Hunger and Poverty
Environment
Malnutrition
HIV/AIDS and Other Diseases
Poverty
Water and Sanitation
Gender Discrimination
Girls' Empowerment
World Hunger - Social Justice Report by the UNA very long PDF report. Use the table of contents to zero in on the areas you're researching.
- Latin America from the World BankGood data about development and poverty, lots of statistics.
Your Country in the News
How is your issue reported in the news? These sources provide newspaper and magazine coverage, plus overview articles, too. You can access the starred resources from home with an ID& PW, available from the library.
- SIRS*You can use the advanced search to locate recent news items about your country. There are also overview articles about countries, too.
- CNN WorldWhat issues are currently in the news from your country? Is your country's government in the news?
- World NewspapersThe Internet Public Library provides links to online newspapers from around the world, most countries have English language versions. This is a different perspective than the news reported from outside the country. Be mindful:Is the press controlled by your government?
- Issues and Controversies*Some news, lots of comprehensive information in a pro/con format. *
Need more information?
Remember, any sites that you locate through Google need to be evaluated and vetted BY YOU. Use the green evaluation checklist. WARNING:PLEASE be careful of the page Global Issues.org. The page is written by an amateur with a passion about global issues, coverage varies on issue and country. What sources did the author use in putting together the page about your topic?
Noodle Tools
Use Noodle to create your sources. If you don't have an account, or need a refresher, see Ms. Teixeira.